JOINT RESOLUTION BETWEEN THE LAKE COUNTY SCHOOL BOARDS OF Crown Point, East Chicago, Gary, Griffith, Hammond, Hanover, Highland Hobart, Lake Central, Lake Ridge, Lake Station, Merrillville, Munster, River Forest, Tri-Creek, & Whiting School Corporations

IN OPPOSITION TO SCHOOL VOUCHER EXPANSIONS AND BILLS THAT NEGATIVELY AFFECT THE FINANCES OF PUBLIC SCHOOLS, THE SCHOOLS THAT ARE HELD ACCOUNTABLE AND ARE OPEN TO ALL CHILDREN

School City of Hobart Board of School Trustees

Resolution No. 2021-12

WHEREAS, the Indiana General Assembly during its 2021 legislative session is considering bills that dramatically increase funding for private institutions and provide incentives for wealthy families; and

WHEREAS, the Lake County School Boards recognize that these bills do not help communities of color and other marginalized groups despite the use of the word "choice;" and

WHEREAS, the Indiana Public Schools provide a strong education for Indiana's children, and these bills would divert resources from accountable public schools and give them to private schools that are not compelled to follow the same state standards and mandates; and

WHEREAS, the Indiana Public Schools serve all students and provide robust program offerings that include college prep courses, as well as career and technical education and special education, which are more expensive per student; and

THEREFORE, the Lake County School Boards strongly oppose legislation that diverts funding away from public schools.

DATED this 18th day of March, 2021.

	BOARD OF SCHOOL TRUSTEES SCHOOL CITY OF HOBART
	Ву
	Terry D. Butler, President
ATTEST:	
Rikki A. Guthrie, Secretary	

LAKE COUNTY INDIANA SCHOOL BOARDS (16)

CROWN POINT David Warne, President	EAST CHICAGO Vanessa Hernandez-Orange, President
GARY Robert L. Buggs Sr., President	GRIFFITH Kathy Ruesken, President
HAMMOND John Czulno, President	HANOVER Connie Sterkowitz, President
HIGHLAND Robert Kuva, President	HOBART Terry D. Butler, President
LAKE CENTRAL Cindy Sues, President	LAKE RIDGE Glenn Johnson, President
LAKE STATION Karen Curtis, President	MERRILLVILLE Linda Jonaitis, President
MUNSTER John Doherty, President	RIVER FOREST Michelle Martin, President
TRI-CREEK Douglas Ward, President	WHITING Kathy Murzyn, President